Various Committees formed by RBI and Central Governments

The Reserve Bank of India constitute committees from time to time to review its existing guidelines and stay updated with international best practices. In this article we present you various committees formed by RBI:
various committees formed by RBI

Committees formed by RBI

  1. Economic Capital Framework (ECF) Committee
    Reserve Bank of India has constituted the expert committee to review the Economic Capital Framework (ECF) to determine the appropriate levels of reserve the central bank should hold.

    • Members: The committee shall consists of Dr. Bimal Jalan, Former Governor, Reserve Bank of India as chairman and Dr. Rakesh Mohan, Former Deputy Governor, Reserve Bank of India as Vice Chairman. The other members of the committee are Shri Bharat Doshi Director of Central Board, Reserve Bank of India, Shri Sudhir Mankad, Director from Central Board, Reserve Bank of India, Shri Subhash Chandra Garg, Secretary, Department of Economic Affairs, Ministry of Finance, Government of India and Shri N.S. Vishwanathan Deputy Governor, Reserve Bank of India
    • Currently, the capital base of the RBI is Rs 9.69 lakh crore, and government wants it to be lowered in line with global practices.
    • The Expert Committee will submit its report within a period of 90 days from the date of its first meeting.

Committees formed by Central Government

  1. N K Singh Committee
    The N.K. Singh-headed FRBM (Fiscal Responsibility and Budget Management) Review Committee report had recommended the ratio to be 40% for the Centre and 20% for the States, respectively, by 2023. It said that the 60% consolidated Central and State debt limit was consistent with international best practices, and was an essential parameter to attract a better rating from the credit ratings agencies.

Click to go to RBI Grade B Preparation Page